Newspaper Articles

New Pack Welcomed Into Cub Scouts
March 20, 1958
Newport Daily News
Newport, Rhode Island

The newly organized Cub Scout Pack 33, sponsored by St. Joseph's Church was welcomed into the Boy Scout organization by Robert Smith, scout executive, at its first meeting last night at the Clarke Street Hall.

Frank Marshall, assistant commissioner, conducted a bobcat ceremony during which these boys were inducted into the pack: Joseph Woods, Joseph Virion, James Grauer, Alfred Carrellas, Richard Dermody, Patrick Segerson, James McSparren, Bradley Watterson, Kevin Watterson, Charles Rankowski, William Kempe, Michael Ford, Joseph Carney, William Bell, Robert Schuster, Edward Carter, Matthew Faerber, Kevan Doyal, Leo Amado, Francis Cook, Michael Gormalley, William Lewis, Thomas Silvia, Francis Fearber.

Also Richard Pascoe, Paul Leary, John Flanders, Robert Cowsill, Richard Cowsill, William Cowsill, John Arnold, Sherry Cowen, Richard Anderson, Michael Anderson, Patrick Crowe, Michael Dixon, Joseph Ford, Joseph Furtado, Daniel Long and Joseph Silvia.

Transfers from other packs were Wilham Pascoe, James Kenney, Micheal Segerson, Harold Woods, Robert Tarango, John Barrett, Shawn Doyle and Michael Donilon.

The Bear badge was presented to Michael Segerson of Den 5, William Pascoe, also of Den 5, received his two year pin and a gold and silver arrow on Bear.

The Pack Committee includes Paul Leary, cubmaster; Richard Dermody, assistant cubmaster; William Cowsill, chairman; Frederick Faerber, institutional representative; Charles Virion,treasurer; Margaret Pascoe, secretary. Committeemen are Andrew Anderson, Sherry Cowen, William Doyle and Louis Tarango. Den mothers are Mesdames Lorraine Dermody, Barbara Cowsill, Margaret Cook, Marjorie Kempe and Barbara Doyle. Katherine Kane is an assistant den mother.

Email Me Home